What are non medical requirements for SSI?


SSI or Supplemental Security Income is a program that gives financial assistance to the disabled, seniors and the blind. It is a Federal program that is managed by Social Security. It allows eligible individuals to get SSI benefit payments without having to pay into the program or have any work credits.

Here are some non-medical requirements for SSI:


The income eligibility criteria will vary from state to state and even within the state, it may vary from area to area.

Social Security will determine whether you are eligible for SSI benefits by looking at earned income as well as deemed income. By deemed income we mean the earned income of the other people in one's household.

When looking at your income SSI will exclude tax refunds, loans or grants provided for minors, the first portion of your monthly income, a third of payments given as child support and state aid.


Actually, any age can be eligible, if they meet the criteria.

  • Children up to 18 years old: If their caregivers or parents are eligible for aid due to their income, children can also receive SSI payments.
  • Adults aged 18 to 65: They must have a qualifying disability, and also must be non-students.
  • Adults 65 years old and above: They may apply for SSI and depending on their income, they may be eligible for the benefits.


Eligible applicants are applicants are living in the United States (except for those who are residents of the Northern Mariana Islands Commonwealth, foreign students and military personnel). They are people who:

  • Are U.S. Citizens
  • Are aliens who have received resident status
  • Alien U.S. Military personnel, either discharged or presently serving
  • Refugees and individuals granted asylum (based on some qualifying requirements)
  • Disabled aliens who have been lawfully living in the United States prior to August 1996

Also, the eligible applicant should be one who has not been living outside of the country for over a month,

Criminal Record

Those who have a criminal record but who already have served the sentence are eligible. However, the following will not be eligible:

  • Those who are currently institutionalized
  • Those who are serving their sentence
  • Those who have warrants for arrest due to a felony
  • Those who have violated their parole or probation
Was this question and its answer useful?
Not a bit
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Very useful
Have a question about insurance? Ask the experts