YOU ASK:

How does out of state auto coverage work?

WE ANSWER:

Out-of-state coverage, also referred to as extraterritorial coverage, is a PAP provision, determining the way a Personal Auto policy works if a car accident happens in a state other than the one the covered auto is registered in.

If the liability limits provided by a PAP are lower than the ones required by the state where the accident has occurred, the Auto policy automatically makes up for the gap.

To see what out-of state coverage you are subject to when driving in each US state, you must know the minimum liability requirements that every state has by law. Table 1 can help you become acquainted with the liability limits by state. Note that LL stands for liability limits.

State LL per injured person LL per accident LL for property damage
Alaska $50,000 $100,000 $25,000
Alabama $20,000 $40,000 $10,000
Arkansas $25,000 $50,000 $15,000
Arizona $15,000 $30,000 $10,000
California $15,000 $30,000 $5,000
Colorado $25,000 $50,000 $15,000
Connecticut $20,000 $40,000 $10,000
Delaware $15,000 $30,000 $5,000
Florida $10,000 $20,000 $10,000
Georgia $15,000 $30,000 $10,000
Hawaii $20,000 $40,000 $10,000
Idaho $20,000 $50,000 $15,000
Illinois $20,000 $40,000 $15,000
Indiana $25,000 $50,000 $10,000
Iowa $20,000 $40,000 $15,000
Kansas $25,000 $50,000 $10,000
Kentucky $25,000 $50,000 $10,000
Louisiana $10,000 $20,000 $10,000
Maine $50,000 $100,000 $25,000
Maryland $20,000 $40,000 $10,000
Massachusetts $20,000 $40,000 $5,000
Michigan $20,000 $40,000 $10,000
Minnesota $30,000 $60,000 $10,000
Mississippi $25,000 $50,000 $25,000
Missouri $25,000 $50,000 $10,000
Montana $25,000 $50,000 $10,000
Nebraska $25,000 $50,000 $25,000
New Hampshire $25,000 $50,000 $25,000
New Jersey $15,000 $30,000 $5,000
New Mexico $25,000 $50,000 $10,000
Nevada $15,000 $30,000 $10,000
New York $25,000 $50,000 $10,000
North Carolina $30,000 $60,000 $25,000
North Dakota $25,000 $50,000 $25,000
Ohio $12,500 $25,000 $7,500
Oklahoma $10,000 $20,000 $10,000
Oregon $25,000 $50,000 $10,000
Pennsylvania $15,000 $30,000 $5,000
Rhode Island $25,000 $50,000 $25,000
South Carolina $15,000 $30,000 $10,000
South Dakota $25,000 $50,000 $25,000
Tennessee $25,000 $50,000 $10,000
Texas $20,000 $65,000 $15,000
Utah $25,000 $65,000 $15,000
Virginia $25,000 $50,000 $20,000
Vermont $25,000 $50,000 $10,000
Washington $25,000 $50,000 $10,000
Wisconsin $25,000 $50,000 $10,000
West Virginia $20,000 $40,000 $10,000
Wyoming $25,000 $50,000 $20,000

Table 1. Liability limits by state.

Was this question and its answer useful?
Not a bit
  • Currently 5/5 Stars
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Very useful
Have a question about insurance? Ask the experts
Share: