YOU ASK:

What are the characteristics of Florida no-fault car insurance?

WE ANSWER:

The state of Florida has adopted no-fault insurance in an attempt to cut down the number of lawsuits and third-party claims between motorists.

Under Florida no-fault insurance laws, all drivers are required to carry at least $10,000 of personal injury protection (PIP) and the same amount in property damage liability (PDL).

Thus, if a motorist is injured in a car accident, their insurance company will pay for their medical expenses up to the limits specified in the PIP endorsement of their personal auto policy, regardless of fault. However, if the other driver is at fault, the other driver's company is required to pay for property damage.

Things to Consider with Florida No-Fault Insurance

Although it all seems very simple to comprehend, Florida no-fault insurance has certain specific characteristics that need to be taken into account.

  • Although PIP and property damage liability are mandatory in the state of Florida, there are other coverages available to buy if you want more comprehensive protection. These include uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, bodily injury liability, collision and comprehensive coverage.
  • PIP promises to cover your injuries, even when you are in someone else's automobile. If the accident takes place within the state of Florida, your no-fault insurance also covers all the members of your family, even if they don't have their own car. In addition to your family, your PIP can cover some passengers in your auto who do not have PIP or other people behind the wheel of your car. However, if the accident occurs out of state or in Canada, only your family is covered under your PIP.
  • Even if carrying bodily injury liability coverage is not mandatory, Florida motorists are highly recommended to buy such, in order to meet the financial responsibility law requirements. A minimum bodily injury liability coverage of $10,000 per person injured and $20,000 per accident will be required from you if you cause an accident or do any other violation.
  • Florida is a no-fault state with a serious injury threshold, which means that a car accident victim can file a liability claim to sue the at-fault driver, if they have sustained serious injuries.
Was this question and its answer useful?
Not a bit
  • Currently 4/5 Stars
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Very useful
Have a question about insurance? Ask the experts
Share: